Earthquake Mass

Saturday 14 June 10pm

EXAUDI and Russell Haswell transform Brumel’s renaissance masterpiece

Earthquake Mass

James Weeks
Russell Haswell electronics

Music: Antoine Brumel (c.1460–c.1520) and Russell Haswell (b.1970)

The Flemish composer Antoine Brumel’s Et ecce terrae motus or Earthquake Mass is one of the most extraordinarily ambitious and flamboyant works of the Renaissance period. With the piece now incomplete as the only surviving copy of the score has rotted away, the Aldeburgh Festival has commissioned the multi-disciplinary artist Russell Haswell, who creates extreme and transporting electronic sound, to respond to and complete the original as part of our Faster Than Sound series. Here he collaborates with Festival favourites James Weeks and EXAUDI, who bring Brumel’s 12-part masterpiece to reverberating life.

Book Tickets


Comments are closed.